India vs New Zealand semi-final 1st ever World Cup knock-out match to move into reserve day

first_imgThe 1st semi-final of the World Cup 2019 between India and New Zealand had to be moved into the reserve day after persistent rain didn’t allow any further play from happening on Tuesday after 46.1 overs of New Zealand’s batting innings. The Black Caps had scored 211/5 when players were forced off the field as covers came onto the pitch.This is the first instance ever in World Cup history that a knock-out match has been forced to move into the reserve day. In the 1979 edition, a number of matches were played on reserve days due to rain but none of them were knockout games. The only ICC tournament knock-out game that was required to be played on a reserve day remains the final of the 2002 Champions Trophy when finalists India and Sri Lanka had to share the trophy after rain didn’t allow the match to be completed even on the extra day.As far as the World Cup 2019 semi-final between India and New Zealand is concerned, the match will recommence on Wednesday (July 10) at 10.30am BST (15.00pm IST), weather permitting, with gates opening at 08.30am BST (13.00 IST).The game will continue where it was halted – New Zealand will complete their 50-over innings and India will then complete their 50-over innings, weather permitting. The match may be shortened dependent on conditions.For the match to be completed, India are required to bat for at least 20 overs. If after the reserve day the match has still not reached a result, India will progress to the final given their higher finishing position in the group stage.advertisementAlso Read | World Cup 2019 semi-final: How much will India need to chase if New Zealand do not bat again?Also See:last_img